

Press Release

EDAA Achievement Award 2017 goes to Prof. C. L. David Liu

Lausanne, March 28, 2017 - The EDAA Achievement Award 2017 goes to Prof. C. L. David Liu.

The EDAA Achievement Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the state of the art in electronic design, automation and testing of electronic systems during their career. In order to be eligible, candidates must have made innovative contributions, which had an impact on the way electronic systems are being designed.

Past recipients are: Kurt ANTREICH (2003), Hugo DE MAN (2004), Jochen JESS (2005), Robert BRAYTON (2006), Tom WILLIAMS (2007), Ernest KUH (2008), Jan RABAEY (2009), Daniel GAJSKI (2010), Melvin BREUER (2011), Alberto SANGIOVANNI-VINCENTELLI (2012), Peter MARWEDEL (2013), Rolf ERNST (2014), Lothar THIELE (2015), and Giovanni DE MICHELI (2016).

The Award has been presented at the plenary session of the DATE 2017 Conference, on March 28th, in Lausanne, Switzerland (http://www.date-conference.com).



Prof. C. L. David Liu

Prof. C. L. David Liu received his B. Sc. degree at the National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan and his S. M. and Sc. D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His teaching career spans over forty years, at MIT, the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, and the National Tsing Hua University, where he is now the William Mong Honorary Chair Professor of Computer Science. His academic administrative duties include serving as Associate Provost at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign from 1996 to 1998, and as President of the National Tsing Hua University from 1998 to 2002.

His research areas are: computer-aided design of VLSI circuits, computer-aided instruction, real-time systems, combinatorial optimization, and discrete mathematics. He has published over 180 technical papers, and 8 technical books. In addition, he has published 11 books which are essay collections (in Chinese).

He serves on the Boards of a number of high tech companies and educational and charitable foundations in Taiwan. Since 2005, he hosts a weekly radio show on Technology and Humanities in radio stations in Hsinchu, Taipei, and Taichung in Taiwan.

He is a member of Academia Sinica, and a Fellow of IEEE and ACM. He received Honorary Doctoral Degrees from the National Chengchi University (2010), and the University of Macao (2004). Among his major awards are Pioneer Achievement Award from ACM/SIGDA (2016), Oversea Outstanding Contribution Award from Chinese Computer Science Federation (2015), Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award from IEEE(2014), Special Commemoration, International Symposium on Physical Design (2012), Phil Kaufman Award from CEDA(2011), Life Time Achievement Award, from International Conference on VLSI Design (2005), Technical Achievement Award from Real Time Systems Technical Committee, IEEE (1999), Technical Achievement Award from Circuits and Systems Society, IEEE (1998), Education Medal from IEEE (1994), Taylor L. Booth Education Award from Computer Society, IEEE (1992), Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, from ACM (1990).