

Press Release

EDAA Achievement Award 2018 goes to Mary Jane Irwin

Kaiserslautern, Germany, 31 January 2018 – The EDAA Achievement Award 2018 goes to Mary Jane Irwin.

The Achievement Award is given to individuals who made outstanding contributions to the state of the art in electronic design, automation and testing of electronic systems in their life. In order to be eligible, candidates must have made innovative contributions which had an impact on the way electronic systems are being designed.

Past recipients have been Kurt ANTREICH (2003), Hugo DE MAN (2004), Jochen JESS (2005), Robert BRAYTON (2006), Tom W. WILLIAMS (2007), Ernest S. KUH (2008), Jan M. RABAEY (2009), Daniel D. GAJSKI (2010), Melvin A. BREUER (2011), Alberto L. SANGIOVANNI-VINCENTELLI (2012), Peter MARWEDEL (2013), Rolf ERNST (2014), Lothar THIELE (2015), Giovanni DE MICHELI (2016) and C. L. David LIU (2017).

The Award will be presented at the plenary session of the 2018 DATE Conference, to be held 19-23 March in Dresden, Germany.



Dr. Irwin has been on the faculty at Penn State since 1977 where she currently holds the title of Emeritus Evan Pugh University Professor in Computer Science and Engineering. Prior to retirement in July 2017, she also was the A. Robert Noll Chair in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. She has devoted her entire career to promote the field of design and design automation and computer architecture. She has spent close to four decades contributing in a variety of ways to the field.

Dr. Irwin received her Ph.D. from the University of Illinois and an Honorary Doctorate from Chalmers University, Sweden. She was named a Fellow of The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) in 1995, a Fellow of The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) in 1996, was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 2003, and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) in 2009. Awards she has received include the 2003 IEEE/CAS VLSI Transactions Best Paper of the Year Award, the 2004 DAC Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Award, the

2005 ACM Distinguished Service Award, the 2006 Computing Research Association (CRA) Distinguished Service Award, the 2007 Anita Borg Technical Leadership Award, the 2010 ACM Athena Lecturer Award, and the 2012 Ten-Year Retrospective Most Influential ASP-DAC Paper Award.

Dr. Irwin is currently serving as Chair of National Academy of Engineering's Membership Policy Committee. In the past she served as a founding co-Editor-in-Chief of ACM's *Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems* and as Editor-in-Chief of ACM's *Transactions on the Design Automation of Electronic Systems*. She is an elected member of the Computing Research Association's Board of Directors, of the IEEE Computer Society's Board of Governors, of ACM's Council, and Vice President of ACM.

More information and electronic version of this PR available at: http://www.edaa.com/ N. WEHN, EDAA Chair, phone: +49 631 205 44 36, wehn@eit.uni-kl.de

EDAA is a non-profit association. Its purpose is to operate for educational, scientific and technical purposes for the benefit of the international electronics design and design automation community. The Association, in the field of design and design automation of electronic circuits and systems, promotes a series of high quality technical international conferences and workshops across Europe and cooperates actively to maintain harmonious relationships with other national and international technical societies and groups promoting the purpose of the Association. EDAA is the main sponsor of DATE, the premier Design, Automation and Test Conference and Exhibition in Europe.